On the 26th of January the Annual General Meeting was held in Bright. Peter Mathews as Vice-President chaired the meeting as Brian Beardon was unable to attend, and Russell Noble as incoming Secretary took minutes as Maria Beardon was unable to attend.


The real reason many attend the AGM is the awards, and this year Peter Mathews had the honour of presenting two Lifetime Memberships. Lifetime Membership is the highest honour the club can award, and reflects a committment to all aspects of the club: riding, ride organising, volunteering, and holding positions at regional and national levels. The club is proud and honoured to present Lifetime Membership to Howard Dove and Rebecca Morton. The nomination detailing their achievements and contribution to the club can be read: https://www.audax.org.au/public/images/stories/Documents/LifeAwardNominationHowardBec.pdf The full list of awards will be made available, but include:

Ultra Randonneurs 

Katherine Bryant, Peter Carr, Peter Donnan, Peter Heal & Leigh Paterson

Australian Randonneur (lifetime total distance)

  • Rebecca Morton 100,000km - first female recipient,
  • Ian Garrity 50,000km 
  • Peter Carr 25,000km
  • David Hart 25,000km
  • Bhanu Lokubalasuriya 25,000km

Woodrup 5000

  • Peter Makin
  • Spencer Klaassen
  • Anthony J. Richardson
  • Brian Hornby
  • George Judkins
  • Claire Noonan
  • Ian Garrity
  • Katherine Bryant
  • Peter Donnan
  • Bhanu Lokubalasuriya
  • Tim Laugher
  • David Kerr
  • Perry Raison



The final ballots were cast for the election of General Members positions on the National Committee. Thanks to Leigh Paterson, Matthew Rawnsley (Life Member) and Rodney Kruz (Membership Secretary) who counted the voting. The newly elected National Committee is:

    • President: Garry Wall
    • Vice-President: Kerri-Ann Smith
    • Treasurer: Richard Scheer
    • Secretary: Russell Noble

General Member positions are held by:

    • Michael Bentley
    • Peter Donnan (also has role of International Brevet Secretary)
    • Bec Morton
    • Thomas Price

The remaining 7 members of the National Committee are the State Representatives (not necessarily Regional Presidents). These may change with region elections, and are currently:

  • Sarah Chaplin (VIC)
  • Howard Dove (NSW)
  • Chris Edie (TAS)
  • David Fairweather (SA)
  • Peter Heal (ACT)
  • Wayne Hickman (WA)
  • Brian Hornby (Qld)

I'd like to pass on my thanks to the outgoing National Committee for their work through the year. They completed a number of items that had been outstanding, worked on some back office issues that would be largely unnoticed by members (such as the relationship with Cycling Australia) and initiated work around the updating our constitution which will be continued by the new committee. Thanks to Brian and Maria Beardon for stepping into the breach when no President or Secretary nominated last year. Peter Mathews fulfilling the role of Vice-President and bringing his long experience when needed and Richard Scheer for continuing to be the rock in managing our financials. General Members Robert Hoehne who has worked on social media marketing through the year, and Mark Riley for cleaning up issues in the website content. Bec Morton and myself (Garry Wall) are part of the new committee.

Finally, thanks to the State Representatives on the National Committee for contributing across a range of activities, for communicating to the Regional Committees ensuring they understand the actions and interests of the National Committee and for representing the views of members and Regional Committees into the National Committee to shape decisions.

Garry Wall

President, Audax Australia Cycling Club Inc.  

Upcoming Rides

Wed 25 April
QLD Samford 50km Registration
QLD Kay Court, North Mackay 300km Route Map
Thu 26 April
VIC Adelaide (Blackwood) 1000km InformationRoute MapRegistration
Sat 28 April
NSW Yass Valley Visitor Centre, Comur Street Yass NSW 2582 100km Route MapRegistration
NSW Yass Valley Visitor Centre, Comur Street Yass NSW 2582 150km Route MapRegistration
NSW Yass Valley Visitor Centre, Comur Street Yass NSW 2582 200km Route MapRegistration
SA Kings Park 200km Route MapRegistration
TAS Hadspen IGA, Main St 400km Route Map
VIC Elgar Park 100km InformationRoute MapRegistration
Sun 29 April
NSW Yass Valley Visitor Centre, Comur Street Yass NSW 2582 50km Route MapRegistration
NSW Yass Valley Visitor Centre, Comur Street Yass NSW 2582 100km Route MapRegistration
WA Mundaring Sculpture Park 100km Route MapRegistration
Tue 1 May
QLD Toowong 50km Route MapRegistration
QLD Toowong 100km Route MapRegistration